Keep Calm and Philippians 4:13

Philippians 4:13, “I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.” I share this verse because this is my favorite verse in the bible. Story time! When I was eight years old, I was diagnosed with type one diabetes. When I was first diagnosed with this disease, I was scared out of my mind. For the purpose of this blog, I will not be sharing signs, symptoms, and treatment of type one diabetes. I do, however, highly recommend checking out the American Diabetes Association to learn more. In the beginning of this new stage of my life, I was newly diagnosed and had no idea what to do. I had no idea what insulin was, how to check my blood sugar, and I most certainly did not know what diabetic ketoacidosis was. In time, and with the help from my family, and of course the Lord, I managed to pick up on it quickly. I learned how to manage my diabetes and to eat healthy. When I started going through puberty, everything went crazy. Since insulin is a hormone secreted by the pancreases to regulate blood sugar, my blood sugar was uncontrolled during this period of my life. Luckily, I was involved in my church and youth group at the time, and I used my faith as a means of “escaping reality,” even though it is impossible to escape diabetes. One day during my early teens, I opened my bible to the book of Philippians. I read chapter four, and verse 13 stuck out to me most. I contemplated what the verse meant, and I immediately related it to medical.

In the beginning stages of my diagnosis, I always wondered “Why me?” I realized that the Lord wouldn’t have given me something that I could not handle. It took me awhile to realize that having diabetes actually made me a stronger person. It made me a stronger person because I was able to understand others in similar situations. I may not be stronger physically, but I am stronger emotionally and spiritually. I use to see having this disease as being a negative impact on my life, but now, I see it in a more positive light. Sure, I still get upset every now and then, but would sound strange if I didn’t have those negative thoughts every once and awhile.
I thank the Lord for giving me type one diabetes. Not for the disease, but for the ability to relate to others on a deeper level. If you are going through a hard or difficult time, don’t give up. I promise, it gets easier to manage. Keep praying, keep asking the Lord for guidance. The Lord gives us different trials and tests in our lives. Don’t be discouraged if you fail. Get back up and keep trying. Romans 12:12 says, “Rejoicing in hope; patient in tribulation; continuing instant in prayer.” Also, James 1:12, “Blessed is the man that endureth temptation: for when he is tried, he shall receive the crown of life, which the Lord hath promised to them that love him.”
It certainly is a challenge to “endure temptation,” but keep in mind Philippians 4:13, “I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.” Not some things, not most things, but ALL things.

About asullivan64

I am a college student with a passion for the Lord. This blog is about things the Lord places on my heart and hopefully the Lord will use them to speak to people.

Posted on April 18, 2015, in Blog. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

